Last year the California Legislature passed, and the Governor signed into law, the Healthy Workplace Healthy Family Act of 2014. AB 1522 requires that an employer provide paid sick leave to any employee that works 30 or more days within a year.
This is a big change from prior law. Previously, there was no requirement that employers provide employees with any sick time whatsoever. As of July 1, 2015, this changes.
California law now states that an employer is required to provide each employee at least one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Employers can limit the amount of paid sick leave an employee may use to 24 hours in a one-year period of time.
Because this is California, the law sets up additional record keeping and notice requirements. Importantly, the law now requires a specified poster on paid sick leave to be posted in a conspicuous place. Failure to display the poster can result in a $100 fine. New hires are required to be given a written notice specifying their sick leave rights at the time of hire. Also, sick leave records must be retained for three years.
As an employer, you should work with your payroll company or in-house payroll specialist to ensure that a proper accounting of the accrual and use of sick time is provided. The law requires that each employee receive an accurate accounting of their accrued sick leave each pay period. The easiest way to do this is to have sick leave information printed directly on the pay advice.
You can learn more about AB 1522 from the Department of Industrial Relations. They even have a sample poster and new-hire notice that meets the statutory requirements that can be printed and used immediately.
If you have any questions about this law or other employer mandates in California, please call me at (916) 333-2222.